Back when times were simpler

“Happiness is like a butterfly. The more you chase it, the more it eludes you. But if you turn your attention to other things, it comes and sits softly on your shoulder.”

~Henry David Thoreau

Just some daily wisdom from Mr. David! 🙂

Sometimes, I wished that cellphones, smart phones and computers did not actually come to existence. Sometimes, I wished that social networking sites did not exist too. I mean, once you think about it, people lived just fine without these technology in their lives. In fact, because these things did not exist back then, they appreciated life more and took in what nature – a beautiful thing – and what the world has to offer to them. They went out to the wilderness and to the forests to just escape and to take in the greenery. When they were having dinner, they would actually be talking to each other instead of texting. However, now, in this era of what we call the 21st century, none of that is happening anymore. Life as it is, is moving at such a fast pace. We do not even think twice about slowing down and just stop for a moment to appreciate life’s beauties do we? We just go about, in the hub-hub of our lives, with our heads bent down looking at our smartphones, our eyes glued to the screens. Perhaps that is why we’re also so stressed nowadays. Cause our “relaxation” for that matter is also looking through facebook, twitter and other social networking sites which in my opinion, just brings stress, drama, problems and the constant insecurity of not having as many followers as other people.

Yes, I do have facebook, twitter and yes, I do believe occasionally that I cannot live without my phone and my computer and other devices. I mean, everybody will believe that at one time isn’t it?

But I sometimes wished I would be able to go back to when times were much more simpler, and when these devices did not come into existence just as yet.

Just some night thoughts to share. Now, if you’d excuse me, I have to turn in now. See you guys and have a great week ahead! 🙂 Remember to just, for a moment, put your phones away and look at the beautiful scenery 🙂

Leave a comment